Oyo 10th Assembly:Lawmakers That May Occupy Various Positions,Other Political Suspense To Watch Out


Oyo 10th Assembly:Lawmakers That May Occupy Various Positions,OtherPolitical Suspense To Watch Out
Oyo 10th Assembly:Lawmakers That May Occupy Various Positions,OtherPolitical Suspense To Watch Out

Oyo 10th Assembly: Political Expectations To Watch Out For, Lawmakers That  Might Occupies Various Seats

Oyo State Governor, Engr Seyi Makinde will on Wednesday, 14th June, 2023 issue a proclamation for the inauguration of the 10th Oyo State House of Assembly.

The proclamation will be done at the inaugural sitting of the Oyo State House of Assembly, Parliament Building, Secretariat Ibadan.

The sitting be graced by the Governor and other distinguished guests and friends of the lawmakers.

According to Goalpoacher, it was  reliably gathered that some Principal offices occupied by lawmakers who were reelected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) may likely lose their positions owing to few factors.


Lawmakers That May Occupy Various Positions
Majority Leader

The lawmaker representing Ogbomoso South state Constituency, Hon Sanjo Adedoyin will retain his position as the Majority Leader, the position he held at the 9th Assembly.

Minority Leader

The Minority Leader position was held at the 9th Assembly by Rt Hon Asimiyu Alarape but failed at the polls on March 18. PDP cleared all the three House of Assembly seats in Oyo Zone. Therefore, the minority position will be zoned to Oke Ogun where the All Progressives Congress (APC) won four seats. These include (Saki West, Irepo/Olorunsogo, Kajola and Oorelope state constituencies).

Chief Whip

This position was held by Hon Akeem Adedibu at the 9th Oyo Assembly. Hon Adedibu didn’t recontest in the last election as he honoured the gentleman rotational agreement among zones in Iwajowa State Constituency.

This position may likely be zoned to Oyo town and Hon Gbenga Oyekola from Atiba State Constituency may likely become the Chief Whip of the 10th Assembly.

Deputy Majority Leader

Hon Olasunkanmi Babalola appears not likely to retain this position. The fact is that both Deputy Speaker and Deputy Majority Leader came from the same federal constituency.

Rt Hon Abiodun Fadeyi (Deputy Speaker) hails from Ona-Ara local government, Hon Olasunkanmi Babalola hails from Egbeda. Hon Olasunkanmi Babalola’s position may be sacrificed. Deputy Majority Leader position may be zoned to Oke Ogun and precisely, Atisbo/Saki East or Iseyin/Itesiwaju State Constituencies. Wale Canada or Dele Adeola may be favoured.

Chairman Parliamentary Council

This position was occupied by one of the astute parliamentarians at the 9th Assembly, Hon Ayotunde Fatokun. He didn’t recontest in Akinyele Constituency 1.

It appears the position will be retained in Ibadan zone, either less city or main city.

Deputy Chief Whip

This position may be taken away from Hon Yusuf Adebisi but not yet confirmed.

  • Another lawmaker-elect from Afijio State Constituency in Oyo Zone, Hon (Prince Dejavu) who is the son of Ilora King may be considered for a principal office owing to the influence of his father
Political Suspense To Watch Out

Also, lawmaker-elect from Oyo East/Oyo West , Olorunpoto Rahaman who is the adopted son of Governor Seyi Makinde’s Ally, Senator Monsurat Sunmonu from the gravepine should not be underated.

We are waiting to see the political manipulations and calculations in OYO Zone of the State.

Will Senator Monsura Sunmonu, a former speaker and a friend to the governor, will she not use her influence to advance the cause of her adopted son?

Will the Akibio of Ilora not make attempt to push for his dearly beloved son and Prince?

Hon. Gbenga Oyekola is a ranking member of the assembly and a very experienced lawmaker and politician. Is he going to be benched for the “green horns”?

Another place to watch out for is Ibadan less city.

Are we going to have the Chairman, Parliamentary Council, the Deputy Speaker and the Deputy Majority Leader as it currently stands from Ibadan less city?

Will it be fair on other zones? Owing to the fact that other zones also have eminently qualified Honourables.


Leave a Reply